BAFTA 2014 winners revealed

'12 Years a Slave' won Bafta for best film

'12 Years a Slave' won Bafta for best film

LONDON - The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) presented director Steve McQueen's 19th century drama ’12 Years a Slave’ the Film of the Year award, while ‘Gravity’ took home six BAFTAs and ‘American Hustle’ received three.

Prince William also presented the BAFTA Fellowship award to 68-year-old British actress Helen Mirren.

The awards, hosted by British comedian Stephan Fry, came two weeks ahead of the American Academy awards.

Chiwetel Ejiofor won the Best Actor award for his role in ‘12 Years a Slave’.

Australian actress Cate Blanchett won the Best Actress award for her role in 'Blue Jasmine' and dedicated her prize to actor Philip Seymour Hoffman, who died earlier this month from an apparent drug overdose.

Bafta Film Award winners:

Best Film – 12 Years a Slave

Best Director – Alfonso Cuarón for Gravity

Best Leading Actor – Chiwetel Ejiofor

Best Leading Actress – Cate Blanchett

Best Supporting Actor – Barkhad Abdi

Best Supporting Actress – Jennifer Lawrence

Best Outstanding British Film – Gravity

Best Original Screenplay – American Hustle

Best British Short Film - Room 8

Best Adapted Screenplay – Philomena

Best Original Music – Gravity

Best Sound – Gravity

Best Film not in the English Language – The Great Beauty

Best Documentary – The Act of Killing

Best Animated Film – Frozen

Best Cinematography – Gravity

Best Editing – Rush

Best Production Design – Catherine Martin, Beverley Dunn for The Great Gatsby

Best Costume Design – Catherine Martin for The Great Gatsby

Best Make Up and Hair – Evelyne Noraz, Lori McCoy-Bell for American Hustle

Best Special Visual Effects – Gravity

Best British Short Animation – Sleeping With the Fishes

The EE Rising Star Award – Will Poulter.

Copyright © 2014 Anadolu Agency